IFNA Committees

Congress Planning Committee (CPC)

The CPC is in charge of the organization of the World Congress for Nurse Anesthetists in collaboration with the National Organizing Committee of the hosting country. The CPC is doing the on-site visits for the selection of the city and country bidding for the congress organization. The CPC works closely with the NOC for developing the Scientific Program and the Congress schedule.The CPC meets at least twice a year.The CPC is composed of the IFNA Officers, the chairperson of the previous congress, the chairperson or NOC representative of the current congress, the chairperson or NOC representative of the next congress and the IFNA Executive Director.

CPC 2018-2020:

  • Zsuzsana Oroszi - Hungary Chair of the CPC
  • Manda Dunne - UK
  • Jackie Rowles - USA
  • Ingrid Bing-Andersson - Sweden
  • Hui-Ju Yang - Taiwan
  • Zorica Kardos - Slovenia
  • Adriano Friganovic- Croatia
  • Pascal Rod - France


Education Committee:

The Education Committee makes recommendations for the education and training of Nurse Anesthetists. The Committee revises and updates the IFNA Standards of Education, and can assist in the development of Nurse Anesthesia programs. It has developed a curriculum for a Master's program and a Certificate program. The Education Committee is responsible for planning and executing the  Education Session at the IFNA World Congresses. It also acts  as a jury for the Poster Session at the World Congresses. The Education Committee is in charge  of evaluating applications for the three IFNA Accreditation processes (APAP) in collaboration with the APAP Manager. It also gives feedback on APAP document revisions to the APAP manager. All the Education Committee members are experts in education, research and/or as Nurse Anesthesia program directors and faculty members.

Education Committee members:

  • Rebecca Madsen,  DNP, CRNA, APRN - USA, Chair of the Education Committee 
  • Christian Herion, PhD, MME Unibe, RNA - Switzerland
  • Aaron K. Sonah, MPH-Epi, BSC Nursing, CRNA, RN - Liberia
  • Thorunn S. Eliasdottir, CRNA, PhD, Iceland
  • Hsiu-Yun Chang, RNA - Taiwan

APAP Manager:

The APAP Manager is in charge of the evaluation process of the applicant programs to the Approval Process for Anesthesia Programs (APAP) in collaboration with the Education committee.

  • Marianne Riesen, BN, RNA, Dipl. Ed. Nursing - Switzerland

APAP Counselor:

  • Betty J. Horton, PhD, CRNA, FAAN – USA

Practice Committee:

The IFNA Practice Committee is in charge of doing recommendations for the Nurse Anesthetists practice. It revises and updates the IFNA Standards of Practice, Monitoring Standards and Code of Ethics. It collects information about nurse anesthetists and non-physician anesthesia providers worldwide. It also works on guidelines for the Nurse Anesthetists Continuing Professional Development (CPD). The Practice Committee is responsible for planning the Practice Session at IFNA World Congresses. It also acts  as a jury for the Poster Session at the World Congresses. The Practice Committee is composed of experts in practice and research in Nurse Anesthesia.

Practice Committee members:


Right to left:

  • Jim Walker, DNP, CRNA, FNAP,FAAN - USA Chair of the Practice Committee
  • Jakob Ibsen Vedtofte, MEd, RNA - Denmark
  • Joyce Kinanu Muriithi, BSc HPE, RNA, RN- Kenya
  • Vera Meeusen, PhD, MBA, RNA, AFACHSM - Australia